Buddhism in 5 Minutes – Learn more about Buddhism

Buddhism is the world’s fourth-largest religion,
with over 480 million followers. Welcome to All in 5 Minutes, and today I will
tell you more about it. Because of its emphasis on meditation and
mindfulness, Buddhism is often considered to be a form of psychology rather than a religion. Buddhism teaches that the ‘Middle Way’ is
the best path towards liberation. Neither too much worldliness nor too much
of asceticism are good for spiritual advancement. The Five Precepts of Buddhism are
To refrain from harming others To refrain from stealing
To refrain from sensual misconduct To refrain from lying
To refrain from intoxicants which lead to loss of mindfulness (drugs, alcohol etc). In Buddhism, there is no single holy book
and extensive scriptures have been preserved in many languages. Two major branches of Buddhism are Theravāda
and Mahāyāna. In Theravāda, the ultimate goal is the ending
of such mental states as ignorance, attachment, and aversion, and reaching the state of Nirvana. Mahāyāna instead aspires to Buddhahood via
the bodhisattva path, where one remains in the cycle of rebirth to teach others how to
reach awakening. Countries with the highest Buddhist percentage
are Cambodia (96.90%), Thailand (93.20%) and Myanmar (87.90%). Siddhārtha Gautama was the historical founder
of Buddhism. He was born in Lumbini, Shakya Republic, which
was originally in northern India but is now a part of modern-day Nepal. He is also known as the Shakyamuni. ‘Shakya’ is the name of the royal family
into which he was born, and ‘Muni’ means ‘Able One’. He lived his early years as a prince, and
when he was 29 years old he left his meaningless life of luxury and followed a spiritual life
of meditation. Six years later, at the age of 35, he attained
Enlightenment (Bodhi) under the Bodhi Tree. He was then known as Gautama Buddha, or simply
“The Buddha”, which means “the enlightened one”. His intention in founding Buddhism was to
lead people to permanent liberation from suffering. In his life, Buddha gave around 84 thousand
teachings and founded an order of monks and nuns known as the Sangha who have preserved
his teachings down to the present day. The term Buddha also refers to others who
have achieved enlightenment and Buddhahood, such as the 27 Buddhas who preceded Gautama. Nirvana – the end of all suffering and the
state of enlightenment achieved by spiritual seekers. Saṃsāra – the repetitive cycle of birth
and death. Buddhists believe that birth and death are
just transitory events, and after death, everyone will be born in another form until they get
rid of all ignorance and achieve the higher state of complete liberation. Karma – the spiritual principle of cause and
effect where the intent and actions of a person influence his future. Viharas – the sacred places of Buddhists where
they worship, meditate, read scriptures and attend lectures. And here are some interesting facts Visitors do not wear shoes inside the Viharas. Buddhism is a nontheistic religion (Independent
of the belief or non-belief of God); Mahāyāna tradition is considered polytheistic. The 3 tallest statues in the world are of
Buddha. In Buddhism, suicide is seen as throwing away
the precious opportunity to generate positive karma. The Thanboddhay Pagoda temple in Myanmar has
more than 582,000 Buddha statues. There is still a lot to learn about Buddhism
and to find out more you can click on the playlist on your screen, or you can follow
the links in the description. If you would like to learn about something
else in 5 minutes, you can follow this video YouTube suggests specifically for you. Don’t forget to leave a like and subscribe! Thanks for watching, and see you in the next

Jerry Heath


  1. Thank you for watching! I hope you enjoyed the video! 🙂
    Do you have suggestions for future videos? You can leave them here. 🙂

  2. Nice VID dude👍 I see you have done your work with the tags👍
    Keep up the great work🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *